April 15, 2013

  • Near the Cross

    Last night, we had communion at our church, Mennonite Christian Fellowship in Atmore.  The theme of the service was “The Cross of Christ”.  As we journeyed through the very meaningful service, we sang the song “Jesus, Keep Me Near the Cross” written by Fannie Crosby.  When I was younger, this song was not a favorite of mine.  In fact, I got tired of singing it, because we had an older brother in our church back home in Delaware, Brother Ervin, who would always request that if there was an opportunity.  Number 175 in the Life Songs #2, if you want to know, a fact that I can still remember after 45 years….Anyway, I felt like it dragged, and didn’t have that great of a tune, and didn’t really think much of the words.  Fast forward now to last pm, and as we sang this song, tears were streaming down my face, as I absorbed the words.  They have become much more meaningful over the years, and I focused on them.

    Jesus, keep me near the cross,
    there a precious fountain,
    free to all, a healing stream,
    flows from Calvary’s mountain.

    Chorus:
    In the cross, in the cross,
    be my glory ever;
    ’til my raptured soul shall find,
    rest beyond the river.

    Verse 2:
    Near the cross, a trembling soul,
    love and mercy found me;
    there the bright and morning star
    sheds its beams around me. 

    Verse 3:
    Near the cross! O Lamb of God,
    bring its scenes before me;
    help me walk from day to day,
    with its shadows over me. 

    Verse 4:
    Near the cross I’ll watch and wait,
    hoping, trusting ever,
    ’til I reach the golden strand,
    just beyond the river.

    I was transfixed by the thought of me, certainly a trembling soul needing God’s mercy, and realizing that it had made all the difference on my life, through the ups and downs that it has brought…And so I want to say, “Brother Ervin,” who of course has passed beyond the river, “Brother Ervin, you got it right!  You got it right!”   

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *