July 22, 2013

  • Motivations for Missions

     

    In the past several years, I have had numerous opportunities to function in a missionary setting.  And yet, there is always a bit of ‘angst’ in the background, at least for me in trying to figure out my motives and to strip away the extra.  I have been reading “Gracias” by Henri Nouwen who spent 6 months in Peru (of all places, including Cuzco) and Bolivia.  In there, he talks at some length about why people become missionaries and leave the comfortable life to go to the unfamiliar or unknown.   He lists the following..

    1.  A desire to serve Christ unconditionally

    2.  An urge to help the poor

    3.  An intellectual interest in another culture

    4.  The attraction of adventure

    5.  A need to break away from family

    6.  A search for self-affirmation

    7.  Guilt

    8.  Desire to save

    I can think of several other motivations that he did not list, such as a desire to build up “good works” in an effort to look good to others, or even to God.  Also, we may be trying to make up for past failures, although that may correspond to guilt as well.  I could probably see all of the above in my motivations as well, although of course the correct answer is Jesus!  I don’t want to overanalyze, but sometimes I can’t help it….

    He lists the last 2 as the most damaging motivations, because both make the missionary and life on the mission painful.  For example, when I go to a foreign country because I feel guilty about my wealth, I am in for a lot of trouble.  Guilt can not be taken away by hard work, and acts of service still make us vulnerable in that we still are much richer than those we serve.  In the same way, the desire to save people from sin, from poverty, from exploitation, or whatever causes despair when the harder you work, you realize that you are very limited in actually accomplishing anything.  So depending on the success of “saving” makes your life destructive and depressive.  Although they are damaging, it is probable that no one in the mission field is completely free of those particular motivations.  

    But, the great challenge, is to live and work out of gratitude.  The Lord God took on our guilt and saved us.  So our task is to give visibility to the Divine work in the midst of our daily existence.  When we finally come to the point that we realize our guilt has been taken away, and that only God can save, then we are finally free to live as missionaries.  Clinging to guilt is resisting God’s grace, and wanting to be a savior is competing with God’s very being.  And both are forms of idolatry.

    None of that is particularly earth shattering, and I have taken most of the last 2 paragraphs out of his book, but that somehow helped me to strip away the extra layers of motivation, and get down to the basics of what serving Christ is about.  No matter where or when or how, it is God at work, and we join Him in the work that He is already doing…so comforting, and relieving of guilt for long hours with little results, or service without recognition.  In the midst of a large city and thousands of people, the task seems too large.   Even in relating to people at home, or even a mission board sometimes feels like justification for existence as a missionary needs to continually be provided.  And yet, I feel a freedom in this work right now.  In fact, the thought came to me today that maybe the only reason I am here in Peru is to share the gospel with my Spanish teacher.  And if that is the only reason, then I need to be sure and do that, or I will have failed.  (Oh, there is the guilt again).  

    So these are thoughts that come after only 12 days in Peru..so what will happen in the next 60 days?  We will see.  

Comments (1)

  • Dear Doctor Jon, Thank you for sharing your reflections with us!  Are you reading Nouwen in Spanish, then?  Gracias sounds like it would be.  I had to think that that’s our list of why we choose to go…from our perspective.  God may have his own list of things that he wants to do, both in us and through us….and it could be things like:  1. To bring him to a place where he will have to rely wholly on me.  2. To humble him.  3. To heal him.  4. To fill him with joy.  5. To show him more of myself. 6. To make my Word alive for him/in him. 7. To give him more time alone with me.  8. To use him for MY glory.  Wherever we are, we can be missionaries, and so it all applies to all of us, even if we’re not going abroad.  We sometimes do good works out of guilt or false guilt, or fear of what others will think if we don’t help, or out of desire for recognition, or self-affirmation, or out of a need to get out of the house or away from circumstances, or wanting adventure, such as with MDS work after a tornado, etc.  None of us have pure motives all of the time.  I think that is why all of our righteousness is as filthy rags before God.  We may do the good works, but he sees our hearts, and knows things that are in there that we haven’t even seen yet, and we’ve seen plenty.  But that’s no reason to stop.  It’s reason to constantly give our hearts to God and ask him to open our eyes to our sin, and to purify our hearts.  God wants to work both in us and through us.  “We are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus, unto good works, which God hath before ordained, that we should walk in them.”  (KJV)  or “which God prepared in advance for us to do.” (NIV)  Ephesians 2:10.    We’re praying for you!  I’d better get to work doing those good works which he prepared for me to do today!  We’re enjoying the figs and peas and beans.  Thank you!   Judi for JAS 4

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *