October 4, 2012

  • Almost 3 weeks.   That is how long I have been in Catel, Guinea Bissau.  This past weak I had my first real meat since being here, (that is not counting some canned chicken that is the spam of chicken, but tastes not as good!)  I had told one of the ladies in the church here that I wanted fresh fish, which is available at the curbside impromptu market, so I bought from her 7 fish for 500 cfa, the unit of money, of which 500 is a dollar.  So I bought, cleaned and fried them for lunch.  I had some flour, cornmeal substitute, and pepper and salt, plus Lawrys seasoned salt.  It was not bad, if I may say.  They also sell larger pieces of fish that I want to buy for blackening….  I would say the fish was as good as bream, and my roommate, Beryl, also said they were a real treat.  This week, I expanded the minds of the locals with boiled peanuts, made in the south Alabama tradition, and they all pronounced them very good.  I am enjoying lots of fresh okra, roasted corn on a charcoal stove.  The corn is shucked and laid right on the coals, and sort of is a substitute for my popcorn craving.

        I am surviving well, though I have lost weight of course.  Try no desserts, no fattening stuff, lots of walking and activity, and I suspect anyone would lose weight.  But I feel great.  There is no ice or anything cold for that matter.  The only thing that is cold is the shower out of a can every am.  Why is the same temp water cold in the shower and warm in the mouth?  
        I have treated numerous people by myself without an interpreter.  Those are the after hours consults, and the people on the weekends, but prefer to still have an interpreter.  It is going faster than expected in learning the language, but I am working hard at it.  Of course, when someone comes to the house with a machete wound, there is not a lot of history I have to have, is there.  That is what happened the day before yesterday.  I sowed him up squatting on the cement floor, as that seemed preferable to putting him on the kitchen table.
       Living with the director of the mission feels a bit like grand central station.  There is always someone stopping to borrow something, charge a cell phone, or just to visit.  I think that I donÂșt really need to go visiting, they come to my door!   Anyway, it is a good way to meet a lot of people, that is for sure.  I am not sure who all to trust yet, although I trust the people who go to church.  But the other Saturday, I think there were 15 people there at one time at our house, and it was quite confusing to keep up with everyone.
         My schedule always has something in it.  Today, I made the trip to Sao Domingos, the town about 10 miles away that actually has electricity, and an internet place.  I hoped to upload some pictures, but donÂșt have a lot of time for alot.  So I will download a few and see how it goes…..
    My room, )and pharmacy
    Domingus, I mentioned him in one of my blogs
    Terrianne checking a patient in the clinic
    Holding some of the many neighbors close to use
    A neighbor child not so enthralled with all the stickers his brothers and sisters gave him
    Leah, one of the workers here at the mission who is trying to get a school started
    Birthday party for Chad at the mission house
    Chad, with his and my friend Sabino
    Night time comes in G.B.
    It seems like every sunset is beautiful!

Comments (3)

  • I’ve been thinking and thinking of you Jonathan.  Wondering about the things that you say you miss, and thinking that there is a LOT unsaid.  I honestly haven’t talked to your parents about how you are doing, so these updates make me feel a little bit connected.  May you continually feel the presence of Jesus, and may He continue to give you peace, guidance, courage, patience and a deep and abiding love for the people of Catel, Guinea Bissau.  Just know that you are very prayed for and incredibly missed.  Oh, and please take care!  Love you! 

  • Hey there cuz..

    Still can’t figure out how you showered with okra water.. but whatever!!!
    Just so glad to read your updates..
    I hope you are staying well.. 
    It’s easy to think that you have confidence in all your are doing for the Lord, but no doubt there are times of doubt and insecurity.
    I pray that God will surround you with His protecting hand and that no harm will befall you…
    Blessings .. and you are a encouraging example to me…

  • It was great to discover your blog.  My daughter, Adrianne is currently working there in Catel and it is great to hear from other people who are assigned there!   

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *