February 25, 2013

  • Honduras

    This past week, I returned from a 10 day trip to Honduras, with Global Health Outreach (GHO).  What a trip, with so many good memories. We were a group of unrelated people, and by the end of 10 days, it seemed like everyone was one big family.  It is not often that sort of thing happens on a short mission trip.  What a beautiful country, and although the work was difficult, we stayed at almost luxurious settings at El Sembrador, in Catacamas, Honduras.  That is a boys home and school that was established in Honduras way back in the 50s by the work of a farm family from Ohio.  Quite a story.  Here are some of the pictures from that time

    Here I am with several of the children at La Libertad, a village out in the middle of the mountains.  The journey there was quite winding, and up and down.  Not a journey for the fainthearted

    Scenery that seemed to be in every direction.  This photo was taken by Kristen Fischetti,

     

    Another of Kristen’s gorgeous photos.  How can 2 people take pictures of the same thing, and yet have such different results?

    The chapel at El Sembrador.  

    Here is David Sim, after a long day of dentistry, and his beautiful daughter, Andrea.  She was able to relate very well to our translators, all of them about 14 years old.

     

    Here is Jamie Duck, a physician’s assistant from Ohio.                                              Jeanette Cooper, an RN who works in Dr. David Byler’s office

     

    This happens to be the (no) tread of the tire on the bus that we rode.  I think if 

    you have to choose between brakes or tires on those roads, i would choose brakes

     

    How can one family have so many good looking people?  One of the families I treated in El Sembrador.

    Another photo of Andrea                                                                                          And here is David again, with Dr. David Byler, the leader of our group.

    Joe and Kristen Fischetti–studying their Spanish New Testament.  She is the photographer

    Fernando Ascencio, a dentist as well, who was a great addition to our team, since he had such a heart for the people, and spoke impeccable Spanish

    Luigi, our inimitable pharmacist.  What a heart for the Lord!

    A house call to see this disabled 21 year old.                  Another interaction with a patient, although I can’t see what I have in my hand

    Here is not the best picture of Jewel, David’s very capable wife, and David again                                 Jim Weber, a great friend who was translating and logistics

    Our home away from home, the conference center at El Sembrador

    Many stories that came out of that time.  I need to catalog all of that.  I hope and pray that the work we did will continue to bear fruit.  Although the medical work was important, the most important is that at least 11 people came to know the Lord during the week, and many rededications as well to the Lord

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

Comments (2)

  • Looks like your putting love into action yet again! So awesome!! I don’t update my xanga much anymore, but I have certain folks that I stalk on a regular basis! :) Thanks for the updates! It keeps me somewhat connected to my home away from home. :)  

    Doug Root

  • Such an active life, Jon.  I know that it isn’t my approval that you seek, but God’s.  However, I wanted to tell you that because of seeking that Heavenly approval, JESUS shines out all over and it makes my heart so glad.  You really do give me courage and hope.  The choices you’ve made remind me again that the story of our journey to Heaven takes its description from how we’ve chosen to respond to what LIFE hands us.  Ah, Jon.  THANKS for turning tragedy into impetus, sorrow into energy and writing a totally different story than Death had intended.  I surely do love you!  So glad you are in our family.  (I could say “proud” but I’m feeling more grateful than proud that you are my cousin.)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *